Houses in multiple occupation (HMO) | Sevenoaks District Council

Houses in multiple occupation (HMO)

HMOs provide affordable housing for many tenants.

The Housing Act 2004 provides a definition for several types of HMO ranging from a typical bedsit-type through to houses converted into two or more self-contained flats.

Within the Sevenoaks District, there are a number of properties that house three or more people who do not live as a single household and share facilities, usually a bathroom or kitchen. Such properties are HMOs and therefore required to meet basic requirements including fire precautions.

Visit the houses in multiple occupation pages on GOV.UK for more information


Renting your property as an HMO

All HMOs are required to meet minimum standards and responsibilities.

Properties are required to meet basic standards as set out in our Guidance to HMO amenity standards leaflet.

An HMO licence may also be required if a property meets very specific criteria, visit the houses in multiple occupation pages on GOV.UK for more information.

If you believe a property requires a licence, please contact us for further information and advice.

Making a licence application

Before applying for an HMO licence, please read our Guidance to HMO amenity standards as they explain the requirements you must comply with.

The licence fee depends upon the number of units of accommodation within the property. To find out the cost of licensing an HMO, please contact us.

To apply, renew or change an existing HMO licence, please contact our Private Sector Housing team on 01732 227000.


HMO public register

The Housing Act 2004 requires that we hold a public register of all registered HMOs.

View our HMO public register


Further information

How to rent: checklist for renting in England on GOV.UK 

HMOs: a guide for landlords and managers on GOV.UK