Parish and town councils | Sevenoaks District Council

Parish and town councils

Contact details for parish and town councils in the Sevenoaks District

Parish and town councils are the level of administration closest to the people.

Sevenoaks District includes four town councils and 27 parish councils.

A typical parish or town council provides or maintains a range of important community assets which may include:

  • Allotments
  • Common land
  • Woodlands
  • Burial grounds
  • Play areas
  • Tennis courts and other sports facilities
  • Litter bins
  • Benches
  • Car parks
  • Ponds
  • Crime prevention schemes
  • Emergency planning teams

We consult parish and town councils about all planning applications affecting their areas. As the planning authority we take into account their comments before reaching a decision.

Parish or town councillors are elected every four years at the same time the District Council election takes place.